Diesel Motorsport
Formula Volkswage
USA VW Programmes
VW Racing UK
Paris Dakar
Formula Koenig
Super 1600
Polo Challenge
Technical Documen
New Beetle Cup
Other VW Programm
Other News
Lupo Cup


8th Round Formula Volkswagen: Nurburgring 30.9.01

First victory for Elran Nijenhuis At the Nürburgring, Dutch driver Elran Nijenhuis claimed his first victory in the Formula Volkswagen supported by Sachs. He finished ahead of Walter Lechner jr., who was able to take the points lead. Sven Barth came home in third place. At the second appearance of the Formula Volkswagen supported by Sachs at the Nürburgring, the race was held on the so-called ““short track””, which is the second-shortest track on the calendar with its length of 3.043 km. In first qualifying, Sven Barth was fastest, but in the second session, Elran Nijenhuis was faster and thus claimed pole position. Sven Barth was second on the grid, while Stefan Haak and Walter Lechner jr. occupied third and fourth place respectively. Points leader Philip Cloostermans qualified only tenth: the Belgian didn’’t find the right set-up for the short track At the start of the race, Elran Nijenhuis took the lead on the outside and was the first to turn into the Castrol-S. Sven Barth was second from Stefan Haak. Then came a group with Walter Lechner jr., Rob Nguyen, Marc Caldonazzi and Jarno Unland, while Philip Cloostermans was already able to make up two positions on the opening lap. One lap later, Unland had to retire after running hard over the curbstones in the Veedol-Z-chicane. Nijenhuis remained in front, but Sven Barth drove ever-faster lap times and closed the gap to the Dutchman. On lap six, Walter Lechner successfully outbraked Stefan Haak and thus claimed third place. Soon, Rob Nguyen closed up to Haak. The Australian put the pressure on the German, but Haak was able to defend his position. Marc Caldonazzi, Philip Cloostermans and Marko Nevalainen benefited from the fights, as they soon closed the gap to the two combatants. On lap 11, Nguyen had to take the escape road through the Veedol-Z and lost fifth place to Caldonazzi. Sometimes, Nguyen, Cloostermans and Nevalainen were racing three abreast, but after locking up on lap 13, Cloostermans had to let Nevalainen past In the Castrol-S, Nevalainen gained another position as he overtook Nguyen. Out in front, Nijenhuis drove his laps without any trouble, but Walter Lechner put the pressure on second-placed Sven Barth. After a fight over many laps, Lechner went past on lap 22 under braking for the Castrol-S and was second. Then, the order remained unchanged until the chequered flag came out: Nijenhuis secured himself his maiden victory from Lechner, Barth, Haak, Nevalainen and Caldonazzi.

Result 8th round, Nürburgring, September 30, 2001 (23 laps)
1. Elran Nijenhuis  (Netherlands)          in 27.16.340 min.
2. Walter Lechner jr.  (Austria)  03.812 behind
3. Sven Barth   (Gorxheimertal/D) 05.715
4. Stefan Haak   (Berlin/D)  13.721
5. Marko Nevalainen  (Finland)  13.908
6. Marc Caldonazzi  (Italy)   14.162
7. Rob Nguyen   (Australia)  26.717
8. Philip Cloostermans  (Belgium)  26.821
9. Kim Hermans   (Belgium)  27.542
10. Hubert Stromberger  (Austria)  30.138
11. Bastian Kolmsee  (Wiehl/D)  30.932
12. Peter Heinrichsberger (Bad Endorf/D) 34.550
13. Michael Zottler  (Austria)  34.811
14. Sebastian Zschirpe  (Leonbronn/D) 41.358
15. Patrick Rauscher  (Ottstedt a. Berge/D) 51.537
16. Christian Gratl   (Italy)   one lap

Not classified:
Jarno Unland   (Emsbüren/D)
 Florian Stoll   (Rickenbach/D)
Fastest lap:  Walter Lechner jr. in 1.10.187 min. (156.080 km/h)

Points standings:
1. Walter Lechner jr.  149 points
2. Philip Cloostermans  148
3.  Sven Barth   142
4. Elran Nijenhuis  107
 Rob Nguyen   107
6. Stefan Haak   102

Added by: Date : 30/09/2001 00:00:00