Diesel Motorsport
Formula Volkswage
USA VW Programmes
VW Racing UK
Paris Dakar
Formula Koenig
Super 1600
Polo Challenge
Technical Documen
New Beetle Cup
Other VW Programm
Other News
Lupo Cup


5th Round Formula Volkswagen: A1 Ring 26.8.01

Second season victory for Sven Barth In the third foreign appearance of the Formula Volkswagen supported by Sachs at the A1-Ring in Austria, victory went to Sven Barth. The Böhm Motorsport-driver won with a margin of almost 13 seconds from Austrian Walter Lechner jr. (W. Lechner Racing School) and Florian Stoll (Autohaus Stoll). In spite of his second victory of the season, Barth is still second in the championship behind Austrian Walter Lechner jr Already in qualifying for the fifth round of the season, Barth had established the best time with 1.33,876 minutes. His Italian team mate Marc Caldonazzi and Dutch driver Elran Nijenhuis (WT Motorsport) occupied second and third place on the grid respectively. In qualifying on the 4.326 km long track, 14 Formula Volkswagen-drivers were within one second Sven Barth could benefit from his good grid position and immediately pulled away from the field at the start, followed by Elran Nijenhuis and Walter Lechner jr. During the first three laps, 20-year old Barth extended his lead to almost eight seconds. On the following places, however, there were many position changes. Elran Nijenhuis, who had lost the front wing of his car in a light collision at the first corner, was first overtaken by Walter Lechner jr. and then put under pressure by Florian Stoll. Having started eleventh, Philip Cloostermans made it past Florian Stoll and then also past Elran Nijenhuis on the main straight

Meanwhile, race leader Sven Barth stayed in front with a margin of over 10 seconds, followed by Lechner, Cloostermans, Nijenhuis and Stoll. On the final lap, Florian Stoll made it onto the podium. In one of the last corners, the 20-year old from Rickenbach/D surprised Cloostermans, who was in front of him, and went past. This resulted into the following finish order: Sven Barth from Walter Lechner jr. and Florian Stoll. Cloostermans came home in fourth place, followed by Bastian Kolmsee (Young Heroes Team). A considerable performance was also shown by Jarno Unland, who made it up as far as fourth in the race and eventually was classified sixth.

In the championship after five of nine rounds, Austrian Walter Lechner jr. leads with 109 points from Sven Barth (93 points) and Philip Cloostermans (91 points. The next round of the Formula Volkswagen supported by Sachs takes place at the Hockenheimring, September 16, 2001.


Result 5th round, A1-Ring/A, August 26, 2001

1. Sven Barth   (Gorxheimertal/D)  22:30.116 min
2. Walter Lechner jr.   (Österreich/D)     + 12.984
3. Florian Stoll   (Rickenbach/D)    + 26.057
4. Philip Cloostermans (Belgium)     + 26.919
5. Bastian Kolmsee   (Wiehl/D)     + 29.919 
6. Jarno Unland  (Emsbüren/D)     + 33.057
7. Elran Nijenhuis  (Netherlands)     + 41.948
8. Patric Rauscher  (Ottstedt am Berge/D)   + 42.088
9. Stefan Haak  (Berlin/D)     + 42.981
10. Rob Nguyen  (Australia)     + 44.027
11. Marc Caldonazzi  (Italy)       + 53.003
12. Peter Heinrichsberger (Bad Endorf/D)  +1:34.488
13. Sebastian Zschirpe (Leonbronn/D)  + 1 lap 
14. Amir Goreishi  (Freising/D)              + 1 lap

Not classified:
Christian Gratl  (Italy)
Kim Hermans  (Belgium)
Hubert Stromberger (Austria)
Marko Nevalainen (Finland)
Michael Zottler (Austria)

Fastest lap: Sven Barth 1:34.872 min = 164.15 km/h

Championship points:

1. Walter Lechner jr.  109 points
2. Sven Barth        93
3. Philip Cloostermans   91
4. Rob Nguyen    72
5. Florian Stoll     66  


Added by: Date : 26/08/2001 00:00:00