Diesel Motorsport
Formula Volkswage
USA VW Programmes
VW Racing UK
Paris Dakar
Formula Koenig
Super 1600
Polo Challenge
Technical Documen
New Beetle Cup
Other VW Programm
Other News
Lupo Cup


2nd Round Formula Volkswagen: Nurburgring 21.7.01

Eifel-victory for Walter Lechner jr Walter Lechner jr. won the second round of the Formula Volkswagen supported by Sachs. At the Grand Prix-track of the Nürburgring, the Austrian led the race all the way and crossed the line ahead of Florian Stoll and his team colleague, Belgian Philip Cloostermans. After his win, Lechner takes the lead in the points standings Walter Lechner jr., second in the season opener at the Salzburgring, set the fastest lap time in qualifying. The Austrian lapped the 4.551 km long track in 1.41.001 minutes, almost three tenths of a second faster than Florian Stoll. Sven Barth qualified third from Finnish series’’ novice Marko Nevalainen. Philip Cloostermans, who had won the opening round of the season, was fifth on the grid At the start, Lechner made the most out of his pole position and led the field into the first corner, ahead of Stoll and Barth. At the back of the field, there was the usual turmoil. Some cars spun off the track and for Sebastian Zschirpe, his visit to the gravel trap resulted into an early retirement. In the opening stages of the race, Lechner defended his lead in a dominant way, but Stoll remained behind him. Further in the field, there were exciting fights for the other positions. Barth, Cloostermans and Nevalainen were within striking distance of each other. Bastian Kolmsee showed a good performance: having started 14th, he was already sixth after four laps. Belgian  Kim Hermans did likewise, making up eight positions on the first four laps.

On lap five, Barth slowed down and finally retired. Thus, Cloostermans inherited third place. Rob Nguyen and Stefan Haak were fighting for seventh during several laps. In the second half of the race, Jarno Unland benefited and closed up. But then, he missed his braking point on lap twelve and lost ninth place to Patric Rauscher. One lap later, Haak locked up under braking, so that Nguyen could pass.

Meanwhile, Florian Stoll closed up a little to race leader Lechner, but the Austrian stayed in control of the race and brought home the second consecutive victory for the Walter Lechner Racing School-team. After a good race, Stoll finished second, while Philip Cloostermans completed the success of the winning team by finishing third. Marko Nevalainen finished fourth at his debut in the series, ahead of Kolmsee, Nguyen, Haak, Rauscher and Unland. ““That was a perfect race, but I had to drive at the limit, as Florian stayed close””, said the happy winner.


Result 2nd round, Nürburgring, July 21, 2001 (16 laps)
1. Walter Lechner jr.  (A)   in 27.10.386 min.
2. Florian Stoll   (D)   01.065 behind
3. Philip Cloostermans  (B)   14.318
4. Marko Nevalainen  (SF)   19.640
5. Bastian Kolmsee  (D)   23.554
6. Kim Hermans   (B)   30.235
7. Rob Nguyen   (AUS)   35.297
8. Stefan Haak   (D)   36.051
9. Patric Rauscher  (D)   37.821
10. Jarno Unland   (D)   42.643
11. Christian Gratl   (I)   44.990
12. Harald Proczyk  (A)   51.940
13. Peter Heinrichsberger (D)   53.959

Not classified:
Sven Barth   (D)
 Christian Mamerow  (D)
Elran Nijenhuis  (NL)
 Amir Ghoreishi  (D)

Added by: Date : 21/07/2001 00:00:00