Diesel Motorsport
Formula Volkswage
USA VW Programmes
VW Racing UK
Paris Dakar
Formula Koenig
Super 1600
Polo Challenge
Technical Documen
New Beetle Cup
Other VW Programm
Other News
Lupo Cup


Ist Round Formula Volkswagen: Salzburgring 10.6.01

Premiere in the rain – victory for Cloostermans Belgian Philip Cloostermans won the very first race of the Formula Volkswagen supported by Sachs. In torrential rain at the Salzburgring, local hero Walter Lechner jr. finished second, which made for a perfect one-two for the Walter Lechner Racing School-team. With Kim Hermans, another Belgian finished in third place Benelux-drivers dominated in qualifying: Cloostermans was fastest from Dutchman Elran Nijenhuis. Walter Lechner jr., son of the last European Formula Super V-champion of 1982, claimed third position on the grid. He was followed by German Sven Barth, Australian Rob Nguyen and Fin Nikolai Kozarovitzky, whose father was European Formula Super V-champion in 1975. Thus, the first six places on the grid were filled by drivers from six different countries, a clear proof of the international interest for the new single-seater series from Volkswagen Pole-sitter Cloostermans had problems at the start and collided with Nijenhuis. Walter Lechner could benefit and took the lead, but under braking for the ““Fahrerlagerkurve””, Cloostermans re-took first place. For Nijenhuis, the bad luck was not over: he spun off the track together with Kozarovitzky, which forced the latter to retire. Too bad for his team and the Volkswagen Racing crew, who had just finished repair of the Fin’’s car before the race after a crash in qualifying. Later on, Nijenhuis also retired. Christian Mamerow showed a fine performance. Having started 16th, he was already seventh after the first lap Conditions on the soaked track proved very difficult for the drivers. They were lapping in the spray and sometimes had a lot of problems keeping their cars on the track. It was no problem for Philip Cloostermans, however. He extended his lead in a convincing way and was already three seconds ahead of his team mate Lechner after four laps. Kim Hermans put the pressure on third-placed Sven Barth and pulled through on the sixth lap.

Christian Mamerow retired on the eighth lap after a spin. On the same lap, Florian Stoll claimed fifth place from Hubert Stromberger and overtook fourth-placed Sven Barth shortly after that. Stromberger had a big moment on the eleventh lap when he lost control over his car and spun seven times, but was able to continue. On the 14th lap, Stoll missed his braking point and dropped back. Before that, he had been doing well in spite of a damaged front wing. Thus, the final order was Cloostermans from Lechner, Hermans and Kolmsee. ““It is a great feeling to be the first winner in this new category””, said winner Cloostermans at the finish.

Result 1st round, Salzburgring/A, 10.06.2001 (17 laps)

1. Philip Cloostermans  (Belgium)  in 27.36.750 min.
2. Walter Lechner jr.  (Austria)  04.366 behind
3. Kim Hermans   (Belgium)  30.210
4. Bastian Kolmsee  (Wiehl/D)  51.009
5. Florian Stoll   (Rickenbach/D) 54.283
6. Christian Gratl   (Italy)   54.706
7. Henrik Wilking   (Waltrop/D)  59.083
8. Hubert Stromberger  (Austria)  1.03.132
9. Sven Barth   (Gorxheimertal/d) 1.03.446
10. Jarno Unland   (Emsbüren/D)  1.10.130
11. Rob Nguyen   (Australia)  1.31.232
12. Peter Heinrichsberger (Bad Endorf/D) 1.36.049
13. Patric Rauscher  (Ottstedt a. Berge/D) one lap
14. Michael Zottler  (Austria)  one lap
15. Stefan Haak   (Berlin/D)  two laps
16. Sebastian Zschirpe  (Leonbronn/D) four laps

Did not finish:
Christian Mamerow  (Waltrop/D)
 Elran Nijenhuis  (Netherlands)
 Nikolai Kozarovitzky  (Finland)

Fastest lap: Philip Cloostermans in 1.36.180 min. (158.403 km/h)

Points standings:

1. Philip Cloostermans  30
2. Walter Lechner jr.  24
3.  Kim Hermans   20
4. Bastian Kolmsee  17
5. Florian Stoll   16
6. Christian Gratl   15
7. Henrik Wilking   14
8. Hubert Stromberger  13
9. Sven Barth   12
10. Jarno Unland   11


Added by: Date : 10/06/2001 00:00:00